Friday, July 16, 2010

Hop & Follow Fridays!

This is a weekly event hosted by Jen at Crazy For Books. It's a chance to discover new blogs and to garner new readers for your blog as well.
Justify Full
This Week's Question ...
RIGHT THIS INSTANT, WHAT BOOK ARE YOU DYING TO GET YOUR HANDS ON (PAST, PRESENT, OR FUTURE)?

There are two books that are part of two series that I really want. There's Torment, which is the second book of the Fallen series that I'm absolutely dying to get my hands on at this point. I read Fallen the day it came out and I was absolutely hooked! Then there's Last Sacrifice, which is the sixth and final Vampire Academy book. This is the series I promised not to get addicted to ... and now, I'm hooked!

There are also books by debut authors that I can't wait on. The one that pops out the most is Banished, by Sophie Littlefield. The most obvious answer for this blog being The Thirteenth Chime, by Emma Michaels. ;)



To join Parajunkee's new feature and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:
  1. Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Host { Parajunkee.com } and any one else you want to follow on the list
  2. Follow our Featured Bloggers
  3. Put your Blog name & URL in the Linky thing.
  4. Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say hi in your comments
  5. Follow Follow Follow as many as you can
  6. If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love...and the followers
  7. If you want to show the link list, just follow the link below the entries and copy and paste it within your post!


Thursday, July 15, 2010

The Short Second Life..., by Stephenie Meyer

Fans of The Twilight Saga will be enthralled by this riveting story of Bree Tanner, a character first introduced in Eclipse, and the darker side of the newborn vampire world she inhabits.

In another irresistible combination of danger, mystery, and romance, Stephenie Meyer tells the devastating story of Bree and the newborn army as they prepare to close in on Bella Swan and the Cullens, following their encounter to its unforgettable conclusion.


Bree Tanner can barely remember life before she had uncannily powerful senses, superhuman reflexes and unstoppable physical strength. Life before she had a relentless thirst for blood... life before she became a vampire.

All Bree knows is that living with her fellow newborns has few certainties and even fewer rules: watch your back, don't draw attention to yourself and, above all, make it home by sunrise or die. What she doesn't know: her time as an immortal is quickly running out.

Then Bree finds an unexpected friend in Diego, a newborn just as curious as Bree about their mysterious creator, whom they know only as "her". As they come to realize that the newborns are pawns in a game larger than anything they could have imagined, Bree and Diego must choose sides and decide whom to trust. But when everything you know about vampires is based on a lie, how do you find the truth?

If you've read Eclipse, which is Meyer's third installment in the Twilight Saga, then you already know who Bree Tanner is - and you also know what happens to her by the end of the story. What you don't know is how she was created, what happened when she first became a newborn vampire, and the events that led up to the big battle at the end of the book between the newborn vampires (led by Victoria) and the Cullens (aided by the Wolf Pack). Well, for anyone wondering ... this is the book for you.

The Short Second Life is written from Bree's perspective, much like Twilight is narrated by Bella Swan. These stories are similar in that the first-person narrative limits what you see outside of what they see - which can sometimes be a huge handicap. For the most part, Meyer typically wraps up any loose ends and unanswered questions you may have. Unfortunately for me, she missed the part that I truly wanted an inside look into - which was the actual battle itself. We don't see it in Eclipse because Bella is secluded away from the fight, and in this we miss it because Bree kind of lags behind. You see a glimpse, but not as much as I would have liked. You also see the typical humanity that sometimes shows through with most of the paranormal creatures in the story. Even though the newborns don't recall their former lives, they are somehow able to show some humanity, empathy, and huge amounts of curiosity.

On the other hand, Bree's story is quite darker than Bella's perspective. Bree is dealing with becoming a vampire and battling bloodlust, which is something hugely missing from the original novels where it's vampires with many decades (and sometimes centuries) of practice with control, as well as the refusal to give in to their primal instincts - substituting animal blood for human blood. You see more of the inhuman side, with some of the other newborns using their new-found powers to wreak havoc on the human race. And you're introduced to new characters that are never mentioned in Eclipse, as well as seeing behind-the-scenes to Victoria and Riley's plot to destroy the Cullens... and there's a nice little curve ball thrown in there with someone else that is helping her out by turning a blind eye to what she's doing.

Rating: ★★★★✩
Source: Purchase


Title: The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner
Author:
Stephenie Meyer
Series:
Twilight Saga, Book 3.5
Publisher:
Little, Brown & Company
Format:
Hardcover, 178 pages
Release Date:
June 5, 2010

Purchase Book
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound


Contest Winner! (+ 10% off @ Book Depository)

First, a HUGE thank you to everyone that participated in my first contest. Even though there were over a thousand points to verify and total up, it was completely worth it. I only wished my internet would have been completely cooperative through the verification process to get to this sooner. But, we're here now and we have a winner. According to random.org, the lucky number was 17. Going back to the sheet, the winner is ....

Jennifer!

An e-mail has been sent to her, so she'll be getting her book as soon as I get the e-mail. Again, congrats Jennifer!


Now, the second part to this ... which is a nice little perk to being with the Book Depository. I got an e-mail to refer ten friends to receive a 10% off voucher. If you'd like to receive this, shoot me an e-mail at missyreadsreviews@gmail.com with the subject title, "Voucher". The first ten people will be signed up, and anyone after that will be first in line for the next offer I receive!

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.






Phoebe finds herself drawn to Mallory, the strange and secretive new kid in school, and the two girls become as close as sisters . . . until Mallory's magnetic older brother, Ryland, shows up during their junior year. Ryland has an immediate, exciting hold on Phoebe, but a dangerous hold, for she begins to question her feelings about her best friend and, worse, about herself. Soon she'll discover the shocking truth about Ryland and Mallory: that these two are visitors from the faerie realm who have come to collect on an age-old debt. Generations ago, the faerie queen promised Pheobe's ancestor five extraordinary sons in exchange for the sacrifice of one ordinary female heir. But in hundreds of years there hasn't been a single ordinary girl in the family, and now the faeries are dying. Could Phoebe be the first ordinary one? Could she save the faeries, or is she special enough to save herself?

The Dark Divine Trailer

In case you guys haven't checked this out yet, Bree Despain is having an incredible contest to help promote views for her trailer for The Dark Divine. The winner will receive a book-bag with potentially up to eleven books filling it - including an ARC copy of The Lost Saint, which is the sequel to The Dark Divine. Go here to check out all of the great prizes.

What do you have to do in order to be entered into this fabulous contest? It's easy - promote the trailer. Post it on your blog or Facebook, link to it on your Twitter ... promote, promote, promote. The more you post, the more chances you get. Hurry! Today is the last day!!


Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Author Interview: Emma Michaels


It's July 13. In exactly one month, Emma Michael's debut novel, The Thirteenth Chime, will be released - that's right, folks ... Friday [August] the 13th. I e-mailed Emma to talk about her upcoming release (and more) and she was kind enough to answer some questions for me!



Can you give us a small description of your upcoming book, The Thirteenth Chime?

I can share a little bit about the book. The story is about two people - David and Destiny - who must come to terms with their past relationship in the face of dealing with a trap that has been waiting for many years. It is a story of trials and hardships, and throughout it all, it is the bond between the two main characters that will help them to survive the nightmare of "The Thirteenth Chime".

Here is the trailer teaser:

No one knew of its existence until it was removed from the attic upstairs.

In a beautiful house that overlooks the sea, an antique clock has the power to change the course of their lives.

The power the clock resonates will not only force Destiny and ex-boyfriend David on a journey into the depths of one man's mind long dead, but into the mind of a man filled with hatred and bent on revenge.

With the only clues to the nature of the clock having disappeared into the sea, Destiny and David must retrace the steps the man had taken into the darkness, before they fall prey to the trap he had set in motion over half a century ago.

Hatred never dies.

What was the hardest part of writing/publishing this book for you?

The submission process and querying agents. I received over a hundred standard form rejections from agents who didn't even request a partial. When a dear friend pointed out to me that the agents could not possibly be basing their decisions off of my actual writing, I took the plunge and began submitting directly to publishers who would accept unsolicited manuscripts. The responses were overwhelming and very positive! I'm sure that other potential authors out there are encountering the same situations, so please don't give up. I didn't and I made it.

Is there a favorite character for you in the book that isn't necessarily a main character?

Actually, yes I do have one. Her name is Stephanie and she plays a very important role within Destiny's life. Readers of the book will come to know Stephanie's role for if David is the mind and Destiny the heart, is is Stephanie who is the unstoppable spirit.

Are there any specific scenes or parts of the book that you're most excited about people reading?

Many! But I don't think I should give too much away just yet... *wink*

How long have you been blogging about books?

I've been blogging since December 2009. I have always loved reading books and sharing my feelings with others, but it was only then that I decided to share my findings with others on the internet in the hopes it would encourage them to read the books that I was fortunate enough to read and enjoy.

Did blogging about books inspire you to write books, or motivate you more to write books?

Both! It has been such a heartening experience to read the comments that the readers of my blog and of other blogs have left. To hear their feelings and thoughts on what they read encourages me to continue reviewing and to share the stories I am fortunate enough to write, with them. I hope I will bring inspiration and encouragement to others the way they have for me.

Who/What are some of your favorite authors and books?

I love Tamore Pierce novels and any book by Sharon Shinn. They are both wonderful authors that I would recommend for anyone who loves YA books.

Are there any books out there you wish you'd have written?

Just the one(s) I already have written. I'm sure that there is a moment that all potential authors wish they had written, for instance, "Harry Potter" or "The Lord of the Rings", but I prefer to celebrate their triumphs. I hope one day that other authors will celebrate my triumphs with me, especially when I reach my goal of getting first place on the "New York Times Bestseller's List"! (Please help me make it there! We can do it!)

Any advice for others who would like to become an author?

Never give up! I know that it is a long process that can be filled with disappointment, but remember - it is a road that has a beginning and an end. It is up to each of us to decide when we leave the road and if we reach the destination we dream of reaching.

Last words for your fellow bloggers and potential book fans?

Yes, I promise that for all potential readers and fans, I will continue to write for as long as you want me to write! To me, writing is not just a dream I want to fulfill, but it is about reaching out to others with my words just as books that I have read have reached out to me. I want to be a storyteller, to share stories to delight you, bring you to tears, bring you joy, and to encourage you the way you have all encouraged me. Thank you so much!


A huge thanks to Emma for taking the time out to answer the questions. Be sure to check out her blog here and mark your calendars for August 13th, when The Thirteenth Chime will be released!

Teaser Tuesdays!


Teaser Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by MizB @ Should Be Reading.

· Grab your current read.
· Open to a random page.
· Share two (2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page.
· BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (Make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!)
· Share the author and title, too, so that the other TT participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!

Poison Study, by Maria V. Snyder
p. 99

"Have you found a fugitive for the exercise?" the Commander asked Valek as soon as Valek arrived in his office for lunch.
I was tasting the Commander's food when Valek once again destroyed my tentative sense of well-being. Granted, I had been working as the official food taster for the last ten days, but my stomach had finally stopped its painful contractions whenever I was near the Commander.
"Yes. I know the perfect person for the job." Valek settled in the chair facing the Commander.
"Who?"
"Yelena."
"What!" Having given up all pretense of mind my own business, my exclamation echoed the Commander's.

Happy Release Day!!


A huge CONGRATS to debut author, Anastasia Hopcus. Today is the official release day of her novel, Shadow Hills. Be sure to drop by Anastasia's blog or Twitter to congratulate her on the release!



His love captivated her... his secrets might kill her.

Since her sister’s mysterious death, Persephone “Phe” Archer has been plagued by a series of disturbing dreams. Determined to find out what happened to her sister, Phe enrolls at Devenish Prep in Shadow Hills, Massachusetts—the subject of her sister’s final diary entry.

After stepping on campus, Phe immediately realizes that there’s something different about this place—an unexplained epidemic that decimated the town in the 1700s, an ancient and creepy cemetery, and gorgeous boy Zach—and somehow she’s connected to it all.

But the more questions she asks and the deeper she digs, the more entangled Phe becomes in the haunting past of Shadow Hills. Finding what links her to this town…might cost her her life.

Monday, July 12, 2010

It's Monday!...


It's Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly event - hosted by the wonderful Sheila - to share what we are reading this week, as well as what we read the previous week. Feel free to share in on the fun, or just click on the link to see what others are reading!

How's my reading going?

I did manage to finish Shade, which surprised me considering all the time spent with people from our internet provider coming out to "fix" our internet (still not fixed), and the time spent at the vet's office (I now have two animals with ear infections).

What did I finish last week?

Shade, by Jeri Smith-Ready - Holy crow, this book was amazing! I cannot wait for the next!

What do I plan reading this week?

The Darkest Passion, by Gena Showalter - I've been meaning to get to this one for a while now. It's priority now!

The Darkest Lie, by Gena Showalter - I'm plowing through The Darkest Passion to get to this one. It's GIDEON!!

How's your reading going??




Musing Mondays is a meme hosted by Should Be Reading. This week's musing is ...

Can you read amidst distractions? (tv, others talking, sporting events, etc)

My parents like to joke around about it and my husband likes to complain about it, but I can definitely tune out everything around me for a good book. That's the catch, though - it HAS to be a good book. If I get the least bit disinterested in the story, my attention wanders and I can't read it no longer. It's not a true gift or anything, it's just something I've learned to do over the years. When I was a kid, someone from my family was always over visiting my parents. Most of the time, it was just adults ... no kids to play with. So, I'd find a comfy spot somewhere in the house and start reading. I come from a typical Southern family, so they're always loud ... learning to space out the volume of the voices was the hardest part for me - tv was never really an issue.

Now, like I said, it does have to be a good book to keep me involved. If not, my mind automatically wants to go figure out what's happening around me. It takes no effort whatsoever to be distracted by what my parents may be doing, my dogs, or my husband's activities. But if it is a really awesome book ... it's just as effortless to become immersed.
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Me & The Family



Top Left
Husband (Nick) and Me

Top Right
Dilla (top) and Optimus Prime (bottom)

Bottom Left
Stormy

Bottom Right
Mimi (left) and Taz (right)

Facebook Feed

Twitter Feed

READ THIS FIRST!
5/26/2013: If you're here and you're reading this.. thanks for sticking around! I know I've been gone for a while but I am definitely coming back. This blog will be going through some crazy transitions (layout and such) for the next few days, but I should be back up and ready to review VERY soon. Thanks so much for your patience and support!! xoxo, Missy
Website Hit Counter
[Visitors since 4/9/2011]

Blog Design by Missy using images from the Bedtime Stories kit by Kotozebra Designs