Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Waiting on Wednesday


Darkness Becomes Her
by Kelly Keaton

Waiting Until ...
February 22, 2011


Ari can’t help feeling lost and alone. With teal eyes and freakish silver hair that can’t be changed or destroyed, Ari has always stood out. And after growing up in foster care, she longs for some understanding of where she came from and who she is.

Her search for answers uncovers just one message from her long dead mother: Run. Ari can sense that someone, or something, is getting closer than they should. But it’s impossible to protect herself when she doesn’t know what she’s running from or why she is being pursued.

She knows only one thing: she must return to her birthplace of New 2, the lush rebuilt city of New Orleans. Upon arriving, she discovers that New 2 is very...different. Here, Ari is seemingly normal. But every creature she encounters, no matter how deadly or horrifying, is afraid of her.

Ari won’t stop until she knows why. But some truths are too haunting, too terrifying, to ever be revealed.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Teaser Tuesday


My Worst Best Friend, by Dyan Sheldon

"You forgot one." I was still standing. "Did I lie?"

Savanna bit into a brownie. "You didn't lie, Gray. You just edited the truth a little. Really a little. Because the point is that I was in the house most of the night. But not, like, all of it."

Words are funny. They are important, but not as important as what they describe. You know, like in a war when civilians are being bombed into oblivion and the army calls it "collateral damage." You could call it chicken soup, but it would still be killing innocent people. Editing the truth ... fictionalizing ... omitting a couple of tiny facts ... It didn't matter what you called it. It was still lying.

Review: The Cries of Vampira, by Sean H. Robertson

The Cries of Vampira: The Horror of Gaad Grey, The Evil Alpha Werewolf - Volume 1
Sean H. Robertson
Paperback, 82 pages
CreateSpace
November 2, 2010
isbn: 1453808418
isbn13: 9781453808412

Princess Kristin, Princess Kylie and Prince Kolbe Robertson are Triplet Teen Assassin Vampires. Their royal family, the Robertson Clan, occupied the throne of Scotland during the 11th and 12th centuries. Their peaceful homeland of Vampira is under daily attack from the evil Alpha Werewolf Gaad Grey and his horde of Grey Wolves, who seek to decimate the Vampire species and enslave humanity as well.


The story starts out with the Vampirians and Grey Wolves battling one another. There are many casualties, including the Vampirian King as well as Gaal and Gomer Grey of the Grey Wolves - which their son, Gaad, is there to witness firsthand. As the wolves retreat, a lone wolf named Loki comes into the picture and takes Gaad under his wing. Now, seventeen years later, Gaad is set on revenge against the Vampirians, while the King's triplets - now seventeen - are seeking peace between Vampira and the Grey Wolves. But it seems like the only way they can do that is to destroy Gaad, who's hellbent to destroy Vampira and all that it stands for.

Those that are weak at heart when it comes to gore and violence may need to take warning that you will see a lot of that in this novella. This story is surprisingly dark and menacing in ways that I did not think was possible for such a short story, but Sean somehow managed it. For a novella, there was a ton of story and lots of action crammed into the story. Like most novellas that I enjoy, I have to say that this story is too short! I'd love to read a lot more, though I'm sure I'll get my wish with upcoming volumes - I'm just impatient and want to read it now! ;)

For a short story, you get a pretty good sense of what each of the characters are about. Like most vampire/werewolf stories, the two supernatural beings are arch enemies. However, that's where the similarities stop. Unlike most cute and cuddly stories these days, this story takes us back to the unforgivingly violent look at these species. The werewolves in the story definitely take the driver's seat in the violence, as the Vampirians seek peace between their kinds. I have to say that the vampires did disappoint me because I thought they were a little too nice, but maybe they will be redeemed in upcoming volumes. I sure hope so!

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this story and ran through it very quickly. I can't wait for the next in the saga!

Source: Author


Avg. Rating: 3.5

More Info On This Book
HubPages

Buy This Book
Amazon

A special note from the author, Sean H. Robertson:

When YOU add this book to your To-Read shelf today, YOU'LL be helping to SAVE THOUSANDS OF LIVES in 2011 through my donations to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline, part of my global suicide prevention movement. You'll enjoy the NEW & MOST ORIGINAL Vampire series at the same time, which is now on 224 To-Read shelves worldwide since 11-8-10!

The author, Sean H. Robertson, is now donating TEN PERCENT of his royalties for the entire "Cries of Vampira" book saga to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline, because as their slogan says, "With Help Comes Hope." Sean is an overcomer of depression as a former victim of child molestation & wants to help EVERYONE who is battling hopelessness & despair worldwide.

Monday, December 13, 2010

Monday Update!

Hosted By: Book Journey

I'm home from out of town - a little stressed, but so relieved to be here until after the holidays. First off, something crazy happened... my debit card was flagged as fraudulent! Why? Because I have been pretty inactive using my own debit card since my husband and I have had a joint account. However, I used it multiple times out of town to get gas, mail off packages, and order books. The crazy thing about it was that it kept getting approved, so I didn't know until I got a letter from the post office telling me they couldn't mail my packages that have been up there for almost two weeks! The bank flagged it the first time I used my debit when I got gas and used it as credit instead of debit. Apparently, that was "suspicious" - even though that's how I always use my debit card because I'm always weird about people getting my pin number! SO, tomorrow I have to go to the post office and get that straightened out. After, I need to either e-mail or call Book Depository and see if I can straighten out that hot mess. So for anyone that I owe books and packages to ... I'm not trying to screw you out of what you deserve - I'm just trying to straighten everything out. Sorry! I didn't know it was going to be such a big ordeal to use my own account. ;)

In other news ... I'm looking very forward to next year. I have several new features for this blog that I hope you guys will enjoy. I'm working out kinks and e-mailing like crazy to see if one of the features will be possible, so I'm going to wait a few days to tell you guys about that. However, I will tell you that one of the features is going to be called "After Hours", which will be where I post reviews for more adult-oriented books after 9pm. During my "free read" time, I took a break from Young Adult and read more adult books I'd love to review on here. I'm really excited about this!

So, that's the news ... now, time for books!


Last Week ...
The Nightmarys, by Dan Poblocki
The Cries of Vampira, by Sean H. Robertson
Tyger Tyger, by Kersten Hamilton

These were books for review, but so enjoyable! I had fun reading all of them while I was out of town.


This Week ...
Memento Nora
, by Angie Smibert
Shadow of the Sun, by Laura Kreitzer
The Long Weekend, by Savita Kalhan

The last two are for book tours and I'm looking forward to them. Memento Nora was a review request, and I'm planning on reading that ASAP!

I'm taking it a little easy this week because I know I will be getting a massive pile of books for review this week to read over the next couple of months. AND I happen to know that I'll be getting the Vampire Academy series for Christmas. I've read all but Last Sacrifice ... so, I've decided to wait until after then to post all of my reviews. I'm thinking an epic re-read is in order. ;) I can't wait!!
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Me & The Family



Top Left
Husband (Nick) and Me

Top Right
Dilla (top) and Optimus Prime (bottom)

Bottom Left
Stormy

Bottom Right
Mimi (left) and Taz (right)

Facebook Feed

Twitter Feed

READ THIS FIRST!
5/26/2013: If you're here and you're reading this.. thanks for sticking around! I know I've been gone for a while but I am definitely coming back. This blog will be going through some crazy transitions (layout and such) for the next few days, but I should be back up and ready to review VERY soon. Thanks so much for your patience and support!! xoxo, Missy
Website Hit Counter
[Visitors since 4/9/2011]

Blog Design by Missy using images from the Bedtime Stories kit by Kotozebra Designs