Saturday, February 18, 2012

New This Week

Here are some of this week's Young Adult book releases. To learn more about each book, click on its cover art to be redirected to its page on Young Adult Books Central.

February 14, 2012






February 16, 2012



This post is brought to you by Missy's Reads & Reviews. It spotlights some of the newly released books in YA - but it is not a comprehensive list to ALL Young Adult releases. To see information on more books and releases, please be sure to "like" Missy's Reads & Reviews on Facebook.

Cover Reveal & Tour Wrap-Up

It is my very special honor to be able to reveal the cover of The Seer's 7 Deadly Fairy Tales: A Compendium! This is a mini-book companion to The Seer's 7 Deadly Fairy Tales, and also includes a fairy tale told by Locke to the children at Blessingston. The best part? The book will be absolutely FREE!! Keep an eye out for its release within the next few weeks. Until then, without further ado, I give you the official cover of The Seer's 7 Deadly Fairy Tales: A Compendium!




Today marks the official end of the blog tour for All's Fair in Vanities War. It makes me sad, but all good things must come to an end! I want to thank each and every single participant on this tour... you all were amazing!

If you missed any tour stops, be sure to check the schedule posted below to be redirected. There are several giveaways still going on for e-books of All's Fair in Vanities War, including my own, so please be sure to drop by the blogs to see if they're still taking entrants.

Also, you still have a chance to enter the grand prize giveaway of a $50 Amazon gift card. Simply go to The Seer's Facebook page, tell the Seer your favorite line from the book and you'll automatically be entered!

All's Fair in Vanities War Tour Schedule
Sunday, January 15 - Tour Introduction @ Missy's Reads & Reviews
Monday, January 16 - Book Review @ Refracted Light Reviews
Tuesday, January 17 - Author Interview @ Shadow Kisses
Wednesday, January 18 - Author Interview @ Refracted Light Reviews
Thursday, January 19 - Guest Post @ Full Moon Bites
Friday, January 20 - Guest Post & Book Review @ Arianne Cruz
Saturday, January 21 - Book Spotlight @ Pages of Forbidden Love
Sunday, January 22 - Guest Post @ Moonlight, Lace & Mayhem
Monday, January 23 - Guest Post @ Literary Exploration
Tuesday, January 24 - Top 12 List @ A Word's Worth
Wednesday, January 25 - Guest Post @ Book Briefs
Saturday, January 28 - Top 10 List @ The Magic Attic
Monday, January 30 - Author Interview @ Splash of Our Worlds
Tuesday, January 31 - Top 10 List @ Snarky Mamma
Wednesday, February 1 - Guest Post @ Must Read Faster
Thursday. February 2 - Author Interview @ Ramblings of an Amateur Writer
Friday, February 3 - Book Review @ The Life of Fiction
Saturday, February 4 - Guest Post @ Esther's Ever After
Monday, February 6 - Top 10 List @ The Bookish Babes
Tuesday, February 7 - Book Review @ 909 Reviews
Wednesday, February 8 - Author Interview @ Spades High Reads
Thursday, February 9 - Top 10 List @ Xpresso Reads
Saturday, February 11 - Author Interview @ Paper Cuts
Monday, February 13 - Guest Post @ Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf
Thursday, February 16 - Guest Post @ Crazed Bookie
Friday, February 17 - Book Review @ Missy's Reads & Reviews
Saturday February 18 - Tour Wrap-Up... You are here! ;)

Friday, February 17, 2012

Blog Tour Playlist: Falling in Between


Today is my stop for Devon Ashley's Falling in Between Tour. Devon was nice enough to provide me with a list of her personal favorite songs, listed below. If you'd like to sample some of the music, I also provided a playlist as well. Enjoy!

01. Bad Moon Rising by Creedence Clearwater Revival
02. Not Enough by Avril Lavigne
03. We Used to Be Friends by The Dandy Warhols
04. 21 Guns by Green Day
05. Kill by Jimmy Eat World
06. Behind Blue Eyes by Limp Bizkit
07. Nothing Left to Lose by Mat Kearney
08. Misguided Ghosts by Paramore
09. Mad World by Adam Lambert
10. Twenty Years by Augustana

Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones

Title: Falling In Between
Author:
Devon Ashley
Series:
Falling, Book 1
Publisher:
Self-Published
Format:
Kindle Edition
Release Date:
February 14, 2012

Purchase Book
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Blog Tour Review: All's Fair In Vanities War, by Elizabeth Marx (& Giveaway!)




Salem’s always held sinister secrets. No one understands this better than a sixteen-year-old girl who dies on Halloween night and is reborn a Seer.

The Seer can’t imagine anything worse than being an invisible teenager with enormous black wings. Until she finds out she’s been sacrificed to watch over Locke’s new flame.

Locke Cavanaugh is a Druid, and part of the Order, a clandestine organization entrusted with keeping its members cloaked in the Ordinary world. Physically scarred from the accident that took his girlfriends life, Locke is searching for the OtherWorldly magic that damaged him, because only those without blemish can rule the Order. And once at the helm of the Order he has every intention of finding those responsible for her death.

On the West Coast, Keleigh Flaherty witnesses her parents’ murder by beasts that should only exist in nightmares. She is whisked off to the safety of Salem, where she learns how potent and dangerous her concealed Vate talents are. Keleigh wants to be Ordinary, but when her mother reaches out from the OtherWorld, and implores her to find a forgotten relic she’ll have to use all her ExtraOrdinary powers to locate it.

As Locke and Keleigh join forces, they unravel the Order’s involvement in the witch hysteria and murmurs of a Celtic prophecy. While Locke’s affection for Keleigh blooms, The Seer is torn between her duty to protect Keleigh, and her desire to stop Locke from making the ultimate sacrifice in order to earn Keleigh’s love . . .

But if they don’t find the witches bottle before the ShiningOnes do, someone stalking Keleigh from the shadows will take her instead and plunge all worlds into chaos.
I want to start by saying that after reading this book (which I did a while ago but had to wait for the blog tour to post my review), I knew this could be one of those books where people would either understand it and fall madly in love with it - or they'd just get confused and give up. I've seen both and can understand both sides. Fortunately for me, I fell madly in love with it.

This book is chock full of history, mythology and plot. Add to that it's written from the point of view of the Seer and not necessarily one of the main characters the book focuses on (Keleigh/Locke), you have the potential to be overwhelmed. I think I can safely say this book is not meant to be read quickly or skimmed through - it's intended for those that can sit down and fully immerse themselves in the rich details written on page upon page. If you have that sort of time, then you definitely won't regret it.

There was an amazing cast of characters starring in this book. Keleigh is the sort of girl that just tries to blend in with everyone else, when she truly stands out no matter what she does. Locke is a wild spirit that I honestly can't pin down with just a few words because he is truly everywhere with his personality and emotions. Both Keleigh and Locke's best friends are amazing supporting characters, full of charm and loyalty. Over all of the characters though, I think the Seer was the one that struck me as one of the most intriguing. Perhaps it was because the book was from her POV mostly, but her personality and wit really added another level to the story. It was strange to read the story from a secondary character's perspective, but it also added something unique to the story that I don't think would have been present had the POV from the story been from someone else. And even though the story is told from her POV, the Seer is still something of a mystery that keeps the element of intrigue that isn't necessarily quenched by the end of the story - making it impossible not to want to read more about her.

All's Fair In Vanities War has everything that I could ask for in a great read and I cannot wait to read more. If after reading my review, you're not in the least timid by this book... then I would wholly recommend checking it out.

Rating: ★★★★
Source: Author


If you would like to have the chance to win one of TWO e-book copies of All's Fair in Vanities War, simply comment on this review post with a valid e-mail to enter. Winners will be chosen next Wednesday, February 22, 2012.

Would you like the chance to win a $50 Amazon gift card? Head on over to The Seer's Facebook page, leave a comment on the wall with your favorite line from All's Fair in Vanities War and you're automatically entered!


Title: All's Fair In Vanities War
Author:
Elizabeth Marx
Series:
The Seer's Seven Deadly Fairy Tales
Publisher:
Self-Published
Format:
Kindle Edition
Release Date:
October 24, 2011

Purchase Book
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Me & The Family



Top Left
Husband (Nick) and Me

Top Right
Dilla (top) and Optimus Prime (bottom)

Bottom Left
Stormy

Bottom Right
Mimi (left) and Taz (right)

Facebook Feed

Twitter Feed

READ THIS FIRST!
5/26/2013: If you're here and you're reading this.. thanks for sticking around! I know I've been gone for a while but I am definitely coming back. This blog will be going through some crazy transitions (layout and such) for the next few days, but I should be back up and ready to review VERY soon. Thanks so much for your patience and support!! xoxo, Missy
Website Hit Counter
[Visitors since 4/9/2011]

Blog Design by Missy using images from the Bedtime Stories kit by Kotozebra Designs