Friday, February 8, 2013

Blog Tour: 2013 Your New Astrology Horoscopes (& Giveaway!)


Once again, Suzanne White brings us her ingenious “New Astrology” Predictions for the next 12 months. This exciting new book is offers lengthy, detailed, month-by-month horoscopes for every sign (Western and Chinese). 

We each have two signs – AN ANIMAL YEAR SIGN AND A WESTERN SUN SIGN. Suzanne White’s brilliant NEW ASTROLOGY™ is the fusion of both. With this amazing book, a Leo born in an Ox year will know what will happen to her all throughout 2013 as well as what will be going on in the life of her Scorpio born Goat sweetheart and for her kids, her boss, her family, her friends and her enemies. Suzanne White is the world renowned high priestess of Chinese and Western astrologies. She is always fun to read. And… she is uncannily accurate. This dazzling book offers readers over 100,000 words of crucial information about and forecasts for each and every astrological sign both Chinese and Western. Find out what’s in store for you and yours in the sultry, highly charged and charming WATER SNAKE YEAR 2013. 


Purchase your copy:
----------------------------- 

About the Author: Suzanne White is an American author. She lives in France. She has been a college professor, a fashion model, a journalist, an interpreter, a novelist, a fireworks salesperson, director of a Parisian Couture boutique, an elevator operator, a shoe salesperson, a single mother and a simultaneous translator. In between she has written books. Lots of books. About Astrology. The New Astrology – a blend of Asian Animal Signs and Sun Signs. Suzanne’s readers have dubbed her “The High Priestess” of Chinese and Western Astrologies. 2013 NEW ASTROLOGY HOROSCOPES BOOK – CHINESE AND WESTERN PREDICTIONS FOR THE SNAKE YEAR 2013 IS # 1 ON AMAZON’S ASTROLOGY BOOK BEST SELLER LIST. 

Visit the Author:
-----------------------------

Pump Up Your Book and Suzanne White are teaming up to give you a chance to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card plus a paperback and e-copy of her book, 2013 Your New Astrology Horoscopes!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Midwinterblood, by Marcus Sedgwick


Author: Marcus Sedgwick
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Release Date: February 5, 2013
Format: Hardcover; 272 pages
Series: N/A
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Horror, Paranormal
Avg. Rating:

Goodreads | Book Depository
Seven stories of passion and love separated by centuries but mysteriously intertwined—this is a tale of horror and beauty, tenderness and sacrifice.

An archaeologist who unearths a mysterious artifact, an airman who finds himself far from home, a painter, a ghost, a vampire, and a Viking: the seven stories in this compelling novel all take place on the remote Scandinavian island of Blessed where a curiously powerful plant that resembles a dragon grows. What binds these stories together? What secrets lurk beneath the surface of this idyllic countryside? And what might be powerful enough to break the cycle of midwinterblood? From award-winning author Marcus Sedgwick comes a book about passion and preservation and ultimately an exploration of the bounds of love.

Midwinterblood is one of those books that you have to let stew in your head for a little while before actually judging - or, in my case, reviewing. As the description says, there are seven stories in this book. All of these stories revolve around two main characters - the same main characters - and what happens to them in each time period. The stories go from the future to the past in order to tell a more clearer account of the events that unfold during each life. 

Now, it sounds a little confusing.. but it's not all so bad. A perk to this book is that the same characters are used in each story, although who they are and who they are to one another changes from story to story. The overall feel and theme to Midwinterblood is a little tragic, as all stories are centered around the idea of love requiring some type of sacrifice. There is also a plot that intertwines each story to one another that really ties everything together, although the stories could actually be read separately.

This book has a great gothic feel to it and the island itself is ten shades of creepy. The writing was nothing short of fabulous and it definitely kept me reading from the beginning to the very end in one sitting. Books that are compiled of multiple short(er) stories are usually harder to grasp since they're like novellas - where you don't get as invested in the characters and you don't get as much background information as you think you need to really get into the stories. Since these stories are tied together, there was more that was fleshed out.

If I had to say anything "bad" about this book, I would say that there was still a little sparseness to the information you receive in the writing. I don't think it will deter anyone from the story, it just leaves the reader a little curious on a few points throughout the book.

Overall, I absolutely loved this book. I think it's a wonderful read that deserves more recognition than it may receive, considering I haven't seen much about it on the internet. 


Rating:
Source: Purchase

Marcus Sedgwick (b 1968) was born in Kent, England. Marcus is a British author and illustrator as well as a musician. He used to play for two bands namely playing the drums for Garrett and as the guitarist in an ABBA tribute group. He has published novels such as Floodland (winner of the Branford Boase Award in 2001) and The Dark Horse (shortlisted for The Guardian Children's Book Award 2002).

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Blog Tour: Blood Fugue & Witch's Nocturne (& GIVEAWAYS!)

 

This post is part of the blog tour for Books One and Two in E.J. Wesley's Moonsongs series. For more information on the blog tour, click here or click the button at the bottom of these reviews.

Goodreads | Amazon
Jenny Schmidt is a young woman with old heartaches. A small town Texas girl with big city attitude, she just doesn’t fit in. Not that she has ever tried.

Life has pummeled her heart into one big, lonely callus. She has no siblings, both parents were dead by sixteen, and her last grandparent—and caretaker—was in the ground before she turned twenty-one. She’s the last living member of her immediate family. Or so she thinks…

Suddenly, instead of burying it with the dead, Jenny is forced to confront the past. Armed only with an ancient family journal, her rifle, and an Apache tomahawk, she must save her grandfather’s life and embrace her dangerous heritage. Or be devoured by it.

I'm not too overly fond of novellas because you never get a lot of info, usually leaving you with too many questions that may not be ever answered. But after reading the first two books in the Moonsongs series, I'm happy to say that's not the case.

In this first book, we're introduced to some important characters and we get a good little piece of action as well. When you think 47 pages for a novella, you don't think you'll get too much. Only.. you do. While you don't necessarily go very in-depth with all the information, this book is still chock full of action and you get a decent look at the characters in a very short amount of time. 

The writing is amazing - even in just a few short pages, you can see that right off the bat. It really engages you in the story and keeps you reading along until the end. Jenny, the protagonist, is written amazingly well. She's a tough chick, very passionate and also surprisingly very funny. I loved her attitude and the way that she presented herself. 

Like the main character, this story is full of passion. The pace and story itself, though short, will keep you on the edge of your seat until the end - leaving you ready for more. This story is definitely worth your time to check out. 



Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Smashwords
After receiving an ancient tribal journal from her grandfather, Jenny is sent on a mission of discovery in an attempt to unravel clues to her family's monster hunting past. The journey becomes more than academic when she is asked to confront a coven of dangerous witches who plan to cast an insidious spell on the plains of West Texas.

Witch's Nocturne is the second of the Moonsongs Books, a series of paranormal-horror-action novelettes by author E.J. Wesley. These stories contain language and content better suited for mature readers.


This is the second installment of the Moonsongs series and, like its predecessor, it's nothing short of amazing. 

We pick up where we left off in the first book. Once again, Jenny is as spunky as ever - although she has turned the anger down a notch or two. She's more in control than before and things seem to be going smoothly.. until we're introduced to a new antagonist that definitely turns the story up a notch.

As always, Wesley wastes no time delving into the action and has us snared for the duration of the story. This installment was longer than the first, we learn more about our characters as well as having a great new plot. 

I got Book Two with One, so I didn't have to wait like most others. However, now I DO have to wait for Book Three and I have to admit that it's driving me nuts! These stories are nothing short of amazing, and Moonsongs is definitely a series that I would recommend to everyone.

Both of these stories definitely get ★ from me! 


Author of the Moonsongs books, a series of New Adult supernatural action-suspense novelettes. E.J. reads horror, YA, thrillers, MG--basically, anything with words. He is currently in love with the television shows Battlestar Galactica, Downton Abbey, Sherlock, and Fringe. E.J. writes, reads, and watches from Texas, where he maintains a very neighborly attitude. 




Giveaways

There are TWO giveaways that I am excited to share with you guys! 

The first one is here, just for my readers! There will be TWO winners that will win BOTH books in the Moonsongs series. All you have to do is make sure that you follow Missy's Reads & Reviews, then leave a comment with your contact information. The winner will be chosen this Sunday, February 10th. Since these are ebooks, this giveaway is open WORLDWIDE.

The second giveaway is for the whole blog tour. The prizes are as follows:

  • 1 Prize Package #1: Signed copy of Soul Screamers Vol. 1 by Rachel Vincent, Signed copy of Capital Hell by Alicia M. Long, signed copy of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, and Texas (Little Known Facts about Well Known Places (Package open to US addresses only) by Victor Dorff

  • 2 winners of a $15 GC to amazon or B&N

  • 1 winner of $20 towards The Book Depository (INT ONLY!)
 Simply follow the rules on the Rafflecopter below. 

Good luck!! 


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, January 26, 2013

The New Hunger, by Isaac Marion


Author: Isaac Marion
Publisher: Zora Books
Release Date: January 28, 2013
Format: eBook; 140 pages
Series: Warm Bodies (Book 0.5)
Genre: YA, Horror, Paranormal, Zombies
Avg. Rating: ✩ (4.50)

Goodreads
New York is a bayou. New Orleans is a reef. The entire country has been devastated by natural disasters and governmental collapse, and on top of everything else there is the annoying problem of zombies trying to devour you at every turn. But sixteen-year-old Nora and her younger brother Addis are about to discover the most frightening thing yet: being abandoned in this horrific world by their own parents.

Left with only a bag of clothes and a first-aid kit, Nora and Addis begin a harrowing journey to connect with anyone who isn't looking to rob them or eat them. A wounded man wrecks a meal of green beans and French fries at the top of the Space Needle in Seattle. An attempt to get a good night’s sleep in a fortified motel is ruined by an undead face staring at them through the window. And they just can’t seem to shake someone – something – that’s been following them everywhere they go….

Meanwhile, a girl named Julie is traveling toward the city in an SUV with her parents. She is only twelve, but has already seen friends die and her school burn. She has watched her father become nearly as cold and remorseless as the Dead. All she wants is someplace to call home, even if it never really will be.

And somewhere nearby, a tall man awakens in the woods, unsure of exactly where he is, or even who he is. As he struggles to remember details of his life, a single consonant comes to him: R. He is…a name that begins with R…

Since The New Hunger is actually a novella, I guess we would call this a mini-review as I don't plan on speaking much about it for the risk of spoilers.  

All I really want to say is that if you like Warm Bodies, The New Hunger is an absolute must for you. It is a great read from Isaac Marion that gives you a glimpse of the characters and their lives before we meet them in Warm Bodies

I definitely enjoyed reading the part of the story about R. You get to experience his first days as a zombie and how he somehow manages to control the hunger from within. I fell in love with R in Warm Bodies, so this back story was definitely a treat.

Even though R is my favorite character, I have to admit that Nora and Addis' story really won me over. Seeing their will to live really stands out as some of the best parts of the story. 

Just like with Warm Bodies, Isaac Marion has managed to use his incredible writing skills to ensnare you back into the world of zombies. This was a great, quick read that everyone should pick up - as soon as it's out, of course.


Rating:
Source: Publisher


Isaac Marion was born near Seattle in 1981 and has lived in and around that city ever since. He began writing in high school and self-published three novels before finally breaking through with Warm Bodies. He currently splits his time between writing more novels, playing obscure instruments in obscure bands, and exploring the country in his 1977 GMC motorhome.






Website | Facebook | Twitter

Thursday, January 24, 2013

A Shade Of Vampire, by Bella Forrest


Author: Bella Forrest
Publisher: Forrest Books
Release Date: December 14, 2012
Format: Paperback; 147 pages
Series: A Shade Of Vampire (Book One)
Genre: YA, Paranormal, Romance, Vampires 
Avg. Rating:

Goodreads | Book Depository
On the evening of Sofia Claremont's seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake.

A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood. 

She is kidnapped to an island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine. An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains. 

Sofia's life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is the one selected out of hundreds of girls to join the harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal Prince. 

Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night.

Will she succeed? ...or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks?

Alright, I'll just come out with it: I love this book. I have read many books this year and many, many books over the past couple of years - and I can honestly say that it has been a long while since I have enjoyed a book THIS much.

First off, it's hard to believe that this book is actually a debut novel - although I guess it makes perfect sense with the author's background. But usually, even with a history like Bella Forrest has, you don't typically see such great writing until a few books down the line. Seeing as how I'm a stickler for writing most of the time, this was one of the things that made me happy.

All of the characters in this story defined themselves well through their actions throughout the story. Sofia was an instant hit for me. I liked that she was a strong character, but definitely had a little vulnerability to her that made her so human and easy to relate to. Derek was also a character that I loved from the very beginning. His actions stayed true to his character, and I love the way his attraction for Sophia shined through.The other characters were just as great. My heart bled a little when Ben showed back up in the story and you found out a little as to what he was going through when Sophia disappeared. Lucas was another character that popped off of the pages for me, but not in the best of ways. 

Being only 147 pages, this book reads very quickly. I think the winning factor to this book, for me, is the fact that this book gets straight to the action and the facts - there's not a ton of fluff that you have to weed through to get to the good stuff. The constant action made me flip feverishly through page after page until the very end. The only downside to that is knowing that I am completely finished with the novel and have to wait for the next book in the series to come out.. which I hope is very, very soon!

Essentially, this book is a vampire romance with a whole lot of action in it. So, if you like any of those themes, then I'm sure you will absolutely LOVE this book. It's definitely one to add to your bookshelf and covet. 

Rating:
Source: Author


ABOUT BELLA:
I've been telling stories pretty much since I could talk. Instead of having my parents read me bed-time stories, I would prefer to share with them my own made up tales.

As I grew older, I developed a passion for the fantasy genre, but more specifically vampires.

I had my first idea for a novel when I was sixteen, and haven't really stopped since.

My debut novel, A Shade of Vampire, was released on December 14, 2012.
The book quickly became a Number 1 Christmas Bestseller in Vampire Romance, Paranormal and Fantasy on Amazon.

If you sign up for personal email updates from me here: www.forrestbooks.com ,
you'll be the first to hear about my new releases.

I'd also love to meet you on Facebook: www.facebook.com/ashadeofvampire
Or Twitter: www.twitter.com/AShadeOfVampire

A SHADE OF VAMPIRE is available on Amazon:

USA, paperback:
http://www.amazon.com/Shade-Of-Vampire-Bella-Forrest/dp/1481280767

USA, eBook:
http://www.amazon.com/A-Shade-Of-Vampire-ebook/dp/B00AOHDMFE

UK, paperback:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Shade-Of-Vampire-Bella-Forrest/dp/1481280767

UK, eBook:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/A-Shade-Of-Vampire-ebook/dp/B00AOHDMFE
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Me & The Family



Top Left
Husband (Nick) and Me

Top Right
Dilla (top) and Optimus Prime (bottom)

Bottom Left
Stormy

Bottom Right
Mimi (left) and Taz (right)

Facebook Feed

Twitter Feed

READ THIS FIRST!
5/26/2013: If you're here and you're reading this.. thanks for sticking around! I know I've been gone for a while but I am definitely coming back. This blog will be going through some crazy transitions (layout and such) for the next few days, but I should be back up and ready to review VERY soon. Thanks so much for your patience and support!! xoxo, Missy
Website Hit Counter
[Visitors since 4/9/2011]

Blog Design by Missy using images from the Bedtime Stories kit by Kotozebra Designs