Friday, June 11, 2010

Friday Fill-Ins!


Friday Fill-Ins is a fun, weekly meme hosted by Janet over at the Friday Fill-Ins blog. It's a simple meme - all you have to do is fill in your answers!!


And...here we go!


1. Unexpected neck massages from your husband feels great.
2. The solution is to just keep going with it.
3. Maybe tonight I will easily fall asleep.
4. How about we all live happily.
5. Chocolate is something I highly recommend!
6. Imagine how complicated like would be without technology.
7. And as for the weekend, tonight I'm looking forward to catching up on blogs, tomorrow my plans include cleaning the house and Sunday, I want to spend time with my husband!

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Cover Art: Darkness Eternal by Gena Showalter




Darkness Eternal (Compilation: Young Adult Alien Huntress Books 1 & 2)
by Gena Showalter
528 pages
Published by MTV
Release Date: September 14, 2010



Red Handed (Young Adult Alien Huntress 1)
Previously released June 19, 2007

She's been chosen to fight the elusive enemy among us....

Phoenix Germaine has been trying to earn back her mother's trust after going into rehab and kicking Onadyn -- the drug of choice for New Chicago teens. But when a party in the woods turns into an all-out battle with the most ferocious aliens Phoenix has never seen, she's brought home in what appears to be an Onadyn-induced state. Hello, reform school.

Except, what her mother doesn't know is that Phoenix has just been recruited to join the elite Alien Investigation and Removal agency, where she'll learn to fight dirty, track hard, and destroy the enemy. Her professional training will be rigorous and dangerous, and the fact that one of her instructors is Ryan Stone -- the drop-dead gorgeous, nineteen-year-old agent she met in the woods that night -- doesn't make things any easier. Especially when dating him is totally against the rules....

Wildly imaginative, action-packed, and thrilling, Red Handed launches Gena Showalter's stunning new alien huntress series.


Blacklisted (Young Adult Alien Huntress 2)
Previously released July 17, 2007

Alien hunting can get a girl killed. It can also get her a date.

High school senior Camille Robins and her best friend are determined to snag the attention of their crushes before graduation next month. Armed with red-hot outfits and killer hair, they sneak into the hottest nightclub in town -- which caters to the rich and famous, both human and alien. They end up following Erik (who is human) and Silver (who isn't) through a guarded door and are soon separated and under attack...and not the good kind.

Bad boy Erik spares Camille's life, but the two are soon being chased by gun-toting Alien Investigation and Removal agents. Camille's more confused than ever because Erik's finally showing real interest in her, but the agents are accusing him of dealing Onadyn -- a drug that ruins human lives. Suddenly, with the heat of his kiss lingering on her lips, Camille has to decide whose side she's on...and whether she's willing to put her life on the line to save Erik's.


Gena on the W.W.W.
Website | Blog | GoodReads | Twitter

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Things of Note

Note #1: Missy's sinuses are kicking her tail right now and the medicines are NOT kicking in.

Note #2: I'm not reviewing it, but if you like the sexy time books, Anchor And Storm by Kate Poole is a sweet little read. Definitely not approved for the younger audience, but it's good for the older demographic.



Like the tweet-a-thon for Jackson Pearce's Sisters Red, we are going to be promoting #sealove for Heidi R Kling's release of Sea tomorrow. If you're on Twitter, please join in and help promote a wonderful author and book! You don't even have to go all out, but adding #sealove to the end of each post would really help out. My goal is to see #sealove as a US trending topic. It's something I didn't see with #sistersred, and I'm still slightly bitter about it. Want to know more about Sea, by Heidi Kling? I'll post some information for you!!




Sea
by Heidi R Kling
336 Pages
Published by Putnam Juvenile
Release Date: June 10, 2010



Haunted by recurring nightmares since her mother’s disappearance over the Indian ocean three years before, fifteen-year old California girl Sienna Jones reluctantly travels with her psychiatrist father’s volunteer team to six-months post-tsunami Indonesia where she meets the scarred and soulful orphaned boy, Deni, who is more like Sea than anyone she has ever met.

She knows they can’t be together, so why can’t she stay away from him? And what about her old best friend-turned-suddenly-hot Spider who may or may not be waiting for her back home? And why won’t her dad tell her the truth about her mother’s plane crash? The farther she gets from home, the closer she comes to finding answers.

And Sea’s real adventure begins.


You may or may not have also noticed that I have FINALLY started to update my sidebar for contests and giveaways that I have seen around the web. Even if you may have some of the books, I still urge you guys to check out the blogs. These bloggers are all very wonderful and put a lot of effort into everything they do for their readers. To make the update a little easier for you guys, I thought I'd go ahead and post the contests here as well.

Contests/Giveaways

Insert Book Title Here is moving, and CSN is helping her give away a $100 gift card to one lucky follower. I don't see an end date, so enter immediately if you want a chance!

I Should Be Writing is having a massive birthday extravaganza and you have several chances to win! Ends 6/10

The Book Butterfly is giving away a signed copy of 'Jekel Loves Hyde' by Beth Fantaskey. If you loved 'Jessica's Guide...', I think you'll love 'Jekel Loves Hyde' as well. Only one way to tell -- enter! Contest ends June 10!

Smitten with Books is celebrating 200 Followers with a Jennifer Echols contest. Ends 6/10

Trisha's Book Blog is offering one lucky winner the first two books in the Possession series by Nancy Holder. Ends 6/11

In part of the Blog With Bite 500 Followers celebration, Tina's Book Reviews is having a YA Giveaway at her blog. Ends 6/11

Confessions of a Wannabe Scribe is giving away a *signed* copy of 'The Body Finder' by Kimberly Derting, along with some swag. Ends June 12, so go enter today!

Sophistikatied Reviews is having a Random ARC giveaway, and she just added more ARCs. Contest ends 6/14.

Parajunkee's View is giving away four books to four lucky winners. Ends 6/18

Monday, June 7, 2010

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?


It's Monday! What are you reading? is a weekly event - hosted by the wonderful Sheila - to share what we are reading this week, as well as what we read the previous week. Feel free to share in on the fun, or just click on the link to see what others are reading!

How's my reading going?

I have to be honest, I'm lacking where I need to be dominating and domination where I should be lacking. What do I mean by that? The books on my TBR that I should be reading are falling in priority thanks to the library getting in my hold requests and books coming in via the mail. So, I have about ten books that I'm going in between when I just need to focus on two. This is a HUGE problem when I'm trying to get through books for more reviews. It's not making my happy, and I'm putting my best effort forth to remedy this problem.

What did I finish last week?

Frostbite, by Richelle Mead - The only book that I got to finish off of my TBR list of last week. As much as I hate to admit it, I'm kind of addicted to this series, which is why my other priorities are dropping.

Bitten & Smitten, by Michelle Rowen - I picked this up at the used bookstore and read it while I was visiting my parents because I intentionally didn't take any of my books so I would spend more time with my family and less with books. This, however, turned into my midnight reading after my parents retired to bed.


What do I plan on reading this week?

Shadow Kiss, by Richelle Mead - One of the reasons while some of my books are going to be pushed back.

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner, by Stephenie Meyer - As if I have a choice but to make time for this!

Truly, Madly, Deadly: The Unofficial True Blood Companion; by Becca Wilcott - I'm about a quarter of the way through, I'm hoping to make it to the end after the others.


How is YOUR reading going?

Help Out! Chances To Win Prize Packs!

If you follow me on Twitter, then you know that I've been tweeting a lot about following Jackson Pearce on there - as well as helping to pass the word about Sisters Red. I'm making this post to urge you guys to go over to Twitter and do the same. Not only do you get the chance to win prize packs, but you also get the chance to help promote a really awesome author -- which is really the whole point to book blogging and following book blogs, right? I don't think that authors get nearly as much publicity as they need, and this is a way to change that, no matter how small it may be.

Information on Sisters Red, by Jackson Pearce.





Sisters Red (Sisters Red, Book 1)
by Jackson Pearce
346 Pages
Published by
Released on June 7, 2010



Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris-- the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She's determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.

Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts fiercely alongside her. Now Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves and finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax-- but loving him means betraying her sister and has the potential to destroy all they've worked for.

Twenty-five-year-old Jackson Pearce delivers a dark, taut fairy tale with heart-pounding action, fierce sisterly love, and a romance that will leave readers breathless.
Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Me & The Family



Top Left
Husband (Nick) and Me

Top Right
Dilla (top) and Optimus Prime (bottom)

Bottom Left
Stormy

Bottom Right
Mimi (left) and Taz (right)

Facebook Feed

Twitter Feed

READ THIS FIRST!
5/26/2013: If you're here and you're reading this.. thanks for sticking around! I know I've been gone for a while but I am definitely coming back. This blog will be going through some crazy transitions (layout and such) for the next few days, but I should be back up and ready to review VERY soon. Thanks so much for your patience and support!! xoxo, Missy
Website Hit Counter
[Visitors since 4/9/2011]

Blog Design by Missy using images from the Bedtime Stories kit by Kotozebra Designs