Saturday, November 26, 2011

New This Week!

New This Week! is a weekly feature in which I showcase some of the titles released in the Young Adult world throughout the week. Each picture is linked to its respective Goodreads page, so if a cover appeals to you be sure to click on it to learn more about the book.

Week of: November 20th - November 26th, 2011

This is a list of the books that come out through the week. This list is NOT in chronological order, but instead alphabetized. To see the books on the date that they are actually published, please be sure to "like" Missy's Reads & Reviews on Facebook.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Participants Needed for Blog Tour!

Beginning mid-January, I will be hosting a tour for Elizabeth Marx and her book, All's Fair In Vanities War. From the details that I know so far, this is shaping up to be a very fun blog tour that includes reviews, interviews, fun guest posts, and lots of giveaways - including a grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card at the tour's end! But, like any tour, I cannot simply do this alone.. so, I need you guys to help me out!

For this tour, I need volunteer bloggers for:
· Reviews
· Author Interviews
· Guest Posts
· Top Ten Lists

E-copies of All's Fair In Vanities War will be given to all of those that are willing to post reviews. Elizabeth has also offered to mail bookmarks (US only!) to those that want to do giveaways during the tour. If this sounds like something you'd like to do, there is a place on the form to include your mailing address. Don't worry, it's private and will only be shared with Elizabeth so she can mail out the bookmarks.

I will keep the sign-up form up for exactly one week and will be e-mailing the participants soon after with more details about the tour. There is more information on All's Fair in Vanities War under the sign-up link.

All's Fair in Vanities War
(The Seer's Seven Deadly Fairy Tales)
Keleigh Flaherty is born a Devas.

At one her mother is certain she is a Celtic ExtraOrdinary being of light, and leaves the protection of the Order to conceal her.

By three Keleigh speaks fluent Gaelic, and whispers start.

At five she makes one playmate fly, and another one dies.

By seven Keleigh reads her mother’s fear in her reflection.

At nine she is brainwashed, her ExtraOrdinary powers exiled.

By eleven Keleigh convinces herself she’s just an Ordinary girl.

At fourteen she witnesses her parents’ death by beasts that only exist in fairy tales.

By fifteen the Order shrouds Keleigh in Salem, she is given a sacrificed Seer, and Locke Cavanagh detests her.

At sixteen her mother contacts her through a magic mirror and insists Keleigh find a forgotten relic by the next blue moon.

Now Locke is her only hope for locating the artifact, but he knows the key to its discovery is in Keleigh embracing her ExtraOrdinary gifts, because they will need their combined abilities to battle the ShiningOnes over something so powerful.

And if they fail . . . Keleigh will never see seventeen.

Note: The banner used for the announcement of this blog tour is NOT the official banner for the blog tour itself. The official graphic will be seen during the tour in January.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Review: Ashes, by Estevan Vega

More than three months have passed since Arson and Emery were taken. Taken and then separated.

And experimented on.

Salvation Asylum is more like a prison than a psychiatric facility. Unknowingly, Arson has become a vital instrument in a campaign set to genetically alter mankind. Enraged, confused, trapped, and unable to fully manifest his abilities, he wonders if he will ever see Emery again. His new existence is one crawling with questions. Is Grandma alive? Where does the fire come from? Can he become more than a monster?

In Ashes, book two of the ARSON series, nightmare and reality collide as Arson must embrace what he is and the haunting realization that there may be others out there, others like him.

This is Book Two in Vega's ARSON series. To read my review for Book One, ARSON, click here.

If you've followed my reviews for the past few months, then you know how much I loved Arson. And when I thought that there was no way to improve on such an amazing story, Vega has decided to go and prove me wrong in Ashes. It's darker, grittier and so much more than what I expected it to be. Plus, it had just enough detail and reference to Arson that it was a slice of cake to delve right back into Arson's world.

One of the first things that I noticed in this book is that we get to know Arson a lot better, both past and present. He's always been a character of interest, but that's taken to a whole knew level in this book. Not only do you get to know him more, but you empathize with him so much that you feel everything that he feels and experience everything that he goes through right with him.

Of course, Emery is also back and you witness what she goes through as well. Both she and Arson go through a lot, not only physically but mentally as well - all while not knowing what has happened to each other. We're also introduced to a new character, Adam, who promises to get Emery out of the facility.

The POV changes a lot through the story. However, where most stories would get confusing and difficult to follow, Estevan writes the perspective changes so well that switching is as easy as counting 1-2-3. It doesn't take you out of the story at all. On the contrary, it adds more layers to the story so we can see how everyone is effected by Arson and Emery's disappearance from their own lives and their entrance into Salvation Asylum. As we advance in the story, we not only learn more about the characters but also about the true purpose of the Asylum. The ending will both leave you breathless and longing for even more of Arson's world.

Like his other stories, Vega's description and detail in this book are so vivid that you feel as though you've dived right into the dark world that he has created. Every page is chock full of amazing storytelling that keeps you flipping from beginning to end - hanging on to the very end of your seat the entire time.

Rating: ★★★★★
Source: AuthorLink

Author Information

Book Information
Series: Arson (Book 2)
Kindle Edition
Published September 11, 2011 by StoneGate Ink

Buy The Book
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Website Hit Counter
[Visitors since 4/9/2011]

Blog Design by Missy using images from the Bedtime Stories kit by Kotozebra Designs